I’m melting! I’m melting!

One of the craft supplies that I’m on the lookout for at 2nd hand stores is Perler beads. I’m sure a lot of us remember these things. Those beads that you set on a pegboard tray and then you lay a piece of butcher paper over the beads and iron it. This fuses the beads together to make a design.

Now, I’m sure many of you remember doing these crafts as kids in Girl Scouts or other group crafty gathering. But I bet you don’t know exactly what people are doing with Perler Beads lately. Just do a Google Image Search of Perler Bead 8 Bit, and you will see some impressive designs!

I find these beads in several ways; in little baggies like a drug (must get my fix), in trays separated out by color, in large buckets of various colors, or if you’re lucky like I was the other day….a whole package of 1,000 beads in a single color!

Perler Bead 2nd Hand Finds

Perler Beads found at Goodwill(s) & St Vinnies in the Bremerton/Silverdale area. Bought various prices. These are lovely arts and crafts supplies!

And you might think…well…just what has Miss Wendy Lady done with these beads. Well, lots. I won’t lie, I have bought lots of Perler Beads brand new, and I purchase these through the Perler Website, but the project that I worked on for my son, Anakin’s 12th Birthday utilized a lot of the different variety of colors that I’ve been able to get from the 2nd Hand Stores.

I didn’t have a lot of money since his birthday was right after Christmas, and as a Sonic the Hedgehog fanatic, he wanted me to purchase him pretty pricey Chaos Emeralds. I figured I’d do him one better, so I constructed him a BOX to put his Chaos Emeralds in when we could afford them. I even included 8 bit versions of the Chaos Emeralds adorning the sides. Without further adieu, I present you…the Sonic the Hedgehog Perler Bead Box!

Sonic the Hedgehog Lid for Box

Lid for Sonic the Hedgehog Box

Sonic the Hedge Hog Box Sides

Sides of the Sonic the Hedgehog Box

Anakin was blown away on his birthday! I was so proud of this project. If you can please a preteen with a hand crafted present, then you KNOW you did it right. Anakin ended up getting some money for his birthday, so we took a trip over to Seattle’s Ye Ole Curiosity Shoppe and found his Chaos Emeralds which are now safely encased in the Sonic Box.

Anakin and the Chaos Emeralds

The Birthday boy riding home on the ferry with his treasures!

I have done quite a few Perler Bead art projects, and as I leave you today, I’ll share you with a few that I’ve worked on, including a recreation of the w00tstock poster!

Perler Bead Art

Thanks for reading everyone! I welcome your comments and as always PLEASE share this blog on Twitter & Facebook…is anyone on MySpace anymore?

-Wendy Lady

About Caught 2nd Handed

I'm an avid 2nd hand fan! I'm constantly scouring local 2nd hand stores. This blog started on Feb 2nd 2011 and I plan to share 365 Days of Weird & Wild & Awesome 2nd Hand Store Finds!
This entry was posted in 2nd hand stores, goodwill, perler beads, st vinnies, weird and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m melting! I’m melting!

  1. joniphippin says:

    Two things…well three.
    1. I love your hair in your profile pic.
    2. Great melting…..I think I may have to do this with my youth class.
    3. Great blog. Looking forward to more

  2. Jon says:

    Great job. how did you join the edges? I am guessing they are tongue and groove, but did you melt them with a soldering iron or heat gun or something to permanently fix them?

Leave a Reply

