Oh my gawd, shoes!

I’m a fan of shoes. So as a reminder…watch Kelly sing OMG, Shoes. Warning kiddies…swears.

I thought I’d post a few shoes that I’ve picked up lately. 2nd Hand stores have some of the best shoes that people have bought, worn once and then left in their closet because they just can’t pull it off. I’d buy a few pairs of high heel’d fancies…if not for my toe that I dislocated during Roller Derby (surprisingly painful, 2 years later).

Fortunately…I’m weird enough to pull off a lot of crazy shoes.

My personal favorite are Converse shoes:

The Con is on

The Con is on! Converse shoes bought at Goodwill(s) various prices.

I’ve owned a lot of Converse shoes over the years, and they are by far my favorite because they are comfy, casual and can be worn with any of your day clothes or if you’re a nerd like me, with anything. P.S. The Doctor Wears Converse:

DoctorWhosShoes

Doctor Who's Shoes

Side note: I bought Anakin a pair of new Who shoes for his Halloween costume. Look how adorable he is. Chucks are cool.

Anakin Who

Alonze!

You should check the 2nd hand stores for Chuck Taylor Converse shoes. They are fairly inexpensive (ranging from approx $7-$20 or less), those who donate them tend to not be fans so they’re hardly worn or they are just crazy designs that they didn’t wear in the first place.

These next pair of shoes ARE NOT Converse, but look-a-like high top Chucks that I found. Silvery!

Silver High Tops

--------------Silver High Tops, Bought at Silverdale Goodwill for $7.99 Jan 2011.-------------- Fly me to the moon!

When I was in high school, I sewed a futuristic silver Chinese inspired dress. I wore it with fishnets. Which, at the time in 1995-96(?) was only worn by Tank Girl and hookers….I was more Tank Girl. I imagined myself in the distant future…the year 2000, wearing it with silver Chucks. But back then they didn’t make them. So, I spray painted my forest green Cons with silver paint. Who’d have thought my predictions would come true and I’d find a pair that were exactly what I was looking for! Too bad this girl who borrowed it, ran off with my dress. (Betch)

My youngest son, Kal-El is a big Captain America fan. He dressed as Cap for Halloween this year and was Aaaaaaa-dorkable.

Kal-el as Cap

The face of a hero

So when I stopped by the Bremerton Goodwill about 2 weeks ago, to look for curtain rods, I couldn’t pass up these beauties. They were slightly worn, and a size 8 mens, which is about one size too big for Kal-El (he actually wears the same size as me), but he insisted on getting them because he’d grow into them. He proceeded to wear them to school the next day, despite the fact that they are a little bit ginormous!

Captain America

Captain America Shoes. $5.99 Bought at Bremerton Goodwill Jan 2011

If I could pry these off his feet, I’d probably be wearing them. Lucky kid. Maybe I’ll find a pair on eBay. I’ve seen them on there starting at about $15 and up.

A couple years ago, I saw these “Moon Boots” at Value Village. They are a ladies size 8 (one size too small for me) But I had to have them. Anything futuristic…I like. I wore them when I went to Roller Con in 2009 with my handcrafted fanny pack dress (pic above in the header of my blog). They did not agree with my dislocated toe. 😦

Moon Boots

Adidas Moon Boots Purchased from Bremerton Value Village for $9.99 Summer 2009(?)

And lastly, I thought I’d share with you these crazy, what I can only describe as, “house boots”. They’re glorified slippers…but I love them. As stupid as they are, I had to have them.

HouseBoots

Boots with the Fur, Purchased for 30% off (coupon) of $19.99 at Silverdale Goodwill Jan 2011

Well, that’s all for today! I think my next pair of shoes I’ll be scouring for is a pair of Doc Martin’s. I’ve seen them in various forms, but I’m looking for a pair of calf or knee high Docs. I saw them a couple weeks ago at Bremerton Value Village, but I think they wanted $50. That’s just not in the budget. VV…stop asking so much for donated shoes.

-Wendy Lady

About Caught 2nd Handed

I'm an avid 2nd hand fan! I'm constantly scouring local 2nd hand stores. This blog started on Feb 2nd 2011 and I plan to share 365 Days of Weird & Wild & Awesome 2nd Hand Store Finds!
This entry was posted in 2nd hand stores, geeky, goodwill, roller derby, shoes, weird and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh my gawd, shoes!

  1. Deanne says:

    Don’t forget that Amy Pond wears Converse in season 5 as well. At least in the angels episode. And I wanted to give a shout out to Goodwill and shoes as well. I have slip on mary jane Doc Martens that were almost brand new I got for $15 dollars at Goodwill that I wear every day. What would broke Mom’s do without them? Great blog Wendy. Quite enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

