Don’t get bored, get BOARD games!

Today I dropped by the Silverdale Goodwill after work to get some inspiration for today’s blog. I always get a friendly response from the people who work at the Silverdale Goodwill. They are some of the nicest people. One of the gals who works there let me know that they all got wind of my blog and she got to read it and likes it! I am giving her and all of the employees at Silverdale Goodwill a big HIGH FIVE right now! (High five back at me in the comments if you’re reading)

While there at the Silverdale store, I happened upon the board games & nabbed Bill Nye the Science Guy’s “Way Cool Game o’ Science”!

Bill Nye the Science Guy game Found at Silverdale Goodwill on 2/8/2011 Bought for $1.99

You do know that Anakin is the biggest 12 year old science freak on the face of the earth. He wants to be an astronomer when he grows up. Totally cool profession!

I had to pick up a game for Kal-El too, and he loves dinosaurs so I picked him up the Monopoly Junior Dig’n Dinos version. Cutie pie set it up immediately. Really, he is thrilled in this pic, although he doesn’t look it. I also found him a replacement copy of the Zathura board game that he had when he was very young. He loved that movie so much that he played with the board game to the point of destruction. I knew that I’d find it again at a 2nd hand store…it was just a matter of time.

Monopoly Junior Dino version purchased for $1.49 | Zathura board game purchased for $1.99 Both on 2/8/2011

Which brings me to the point of this blog. What are you all doing there watching TV? Can I suggest something? Choose at least one night of the week and play a board game! It brings social interaction with your family members, which you can’t get from sitting in front of the television. Don’t get me wrong, I love me my TV! But you gotta admit…family relationships are more important.

I challenge you all to head to your local 2nd hand store and pick up a game or a puzzle. And trust me, there’s lots there!

Games currently on the shelf at Silverdale Goodwill as of 3:00pm 2/8/2011

I don’t work for Goodwill, but I do like their store. I like their layout, their service, their causes, their people and their prices. I shop at other stores and yard sales, but I really do give them a lot of credit for what they do.

And if you don’t think you can get good games, check out these puppies that I’ve gotten in the past.

Classics like YAHTZEE!!!

Ooooh Gold Sparkly Dice.

1995 Limited Edition of Monopoly.

Do not pass go, DO pick up this classic game.

It wouldn’t be one of my blogs without super nerdy games!

As seen on Star Trek The Next Generation.

Anakin kicked my butt at this. I thought I knew way more than he did about Star Wars

Clue is more fun when murder weapons are donuts.

There’s not just games, but plenty of puzzles as well:

Make puzzles a hobbit! (bad pun)

Brand new...in the box, unopened!

So pick up your favorite game today and set it up! There’s a board game for everyone.

Kal-El setting up the Zathura board game.

Thanks guys! Please comment! What’s your favorite game? Have you found any good deals on board games at 2nd hand stores? I’d like to see pics of the oldest game you’ve found at a 2nd hand store. Or even the weirdest.

-Wendy Lady

About Caught 2nd Handed

I'm an avid 2nd hand fan! I'm constantly scouring local 2nd hand stores. This blog started on Feb 2nd 2011 and I plan to share 365 Days of Weird & Wild & Awesome 2nd Hand Store Finds!
This entry was posted in 2nd hand stores, board games, geeky, goodwill and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Don’t get bored, get BOARD games!

  1. Lets have board game night together!!!! I’m thinking it’s time for another trivial pursuit night after I have baby so we can enjoy a glass of bubbly together.
    Oh…and I love yer blog and all that…. : )

  2. Thomas Beaber says:

    I would have to say Settlers of Catan after so many games at Discordia. My childhood favorite was actually Payday followed by good ol’ Chess. Great blog idea, Wendy!

  3. Pingback: Reading Digest: Wordpress Meta Edition « Dead Homer Society

Leave a Reply

